Marceau Myers Papers, 1974-1987
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: The papers are from Dr. Marceau Myers, the dean of the School of Music from 1974 until 1987.  The contents date from 1971 to 1987 with the bulk of the material relfecting Dr. Myers's tenure as dean.  The documents cover the running of the department, faculty development, proposals for new music classes and programs, tours by music groups, Dr. Myers's work on university and organizational committees and Dr. Myers's publications.
Held at:
University of North Texas Special Collections
University of North Texas, Willis Library
1155 Union Circle # 305190
Denton, TX 76203
Record Series Number: 02/08/U0168
Created by: Myers, Marceau Chevalier (1929-1987)
Volume: 9.0 Boxes
Acquired: 00/00/1998.
Arrangement: Folders are arranged alphabetically by title.
Biographical Note for Myers, Marceau Chevalier (1929-1987) : Marceau Chevalier Myers (1929-1987) received his bachelor's degree from Mansfield State College (now Masnsfield University) in 1954.  Her earned his masters from Pennsylvania State University in 1957 and his doctorate from Columbia University in 1972.  From 1960 to 1970 Dr. Myers was chairman of the Music Department at Western Connecticut State College in Danbury.  From 1970 to 1974 he was dean of the Conservatory of Music at Capital University in Columbus, Ohio.  Dr. Myers served as dean of the School of Music (now the College of Music) at UNT from 1974 until his death in 1987.  He led the School of Music during a time of growth in student enrollment that made UNT the second largest university school of music in the nation.  He oversaw the addition to the Music Complex.  He was also involved in the expansion of international touring by several music ensembles that included perormances in Western Europe, Russia, South America, and Asia.  Dr. Myers was a past president of the Texas Association of Music Schools (elected in 1985) and served as an officer of the National Association of Schools of Music (Commission on Graduate Studies, 1978-1981 and Commission on Undergraduate Studies, 1983-1987).  Dr. Myers was a member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers awards panel (1982-1987), the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors (1976-1984), and the Texas Girls Choir Board of Directors (1981-1984).
Access Restrictions: Selected items in this collection are restricted.  Please contact the UNT Archives for more information.
Subject Index
Academic deans
University of North Texas. College of Music
Genres/Forms of Material
Languages of Materials
English [eng]
Chinese [chi]
Spanish;Castilian [spa]
Rights/Use Restrictions: Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Special Collections department. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Physical Access Notes: This collection is stored off-site and requires a minimum of 24 hour notice prior to use.
Acquisition Notes: College of Music  Gift
PreferredCitation: Marceau Myers Papers, University of North Texas Special Collections