© Copyright 2020 University Archives. All rights reserved.
The University of North Texas was founded in 1890, but did not have its first building, the Normal Building, until 1891. As the campus grew positions were added to help maintain the structures. By 1914, the school had a janitor who was housed on campus. This person was responsible for five structures. Each of the buildings had electricity, steam heat, and was connected to the city sewer system. Another selling point was the availability of natural gas for the science and home economics laboratories. As the campus continued to grow the need for an office to organize maintenance and planning became apparent. In 1925, Earnest Carson King was the Superintendent of Buildings and Grounds. By 1930, Mr. W. W. Yerby was in the Superintendent position. The name of this department also changed over time to reflect the growth in responsibilities and services provided. The department has been called: Buildings and Grounds (1925-1947), Services and Supplies (1948-1949), the Service Center (1950-1971), the Physical Plant (1972-1985), Physical Plant and Facilities Planning(1986-2001), and Facilities(2000-Present). Currently Facilities comprised of Support and Services, Maintenance, and Planning, Design and Construction.
Physical Plant / Facilities Planning Records, University of North Texas Special Collections
The material is arrange by type and then by date.
Material from this department includes building papers that docment the planning for the Eagle Student Services Center. These papers include plans, bids, budget, punch sheet, and photographs for the structure.
The papers in this box were removed from two binders. The documents were kept in their original order.
A collection of color prints of the exterior and interior of the Eagle Student Services Center.
Homecoming Brochure moved to Series 1, Box 2 (Oversize)
Moved to oversize Box 2
A set of color prints that show the exterior and interior of the Eagle Student Services Center at the end of construction.
This box contains two items that were removed from Box 1: a brochure for the 1997 Homecoming and a copy of InHouse (1997-03).
The project number was 1985B.