Margaret Grubb Music Programs Collection, 1939-1940Add to your cart.

By Jaime Janda

Collection Overview

Title: Margaret Grubb Music Programs Collection, 1939-1940Add to your cart.
ID: 01/ HM.38
Primary Creator: Grubb, Margaret M. (1922-1981)
Extent: 2.0 Folders
Arrangement: This collection is arranged into two folders, Folder 1: Denver Symphony Orchestra and Folder 2: Oberfelder-Slack Concert Series.
Date Acquired: 00/00/1981. More info below under Accruals.
Languages: English


This collection contains music programs from the 1939-1940 season of the Denver Symphony Orchestra and from the Oberfelder-Slack Concert Series.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

Materials consist of three programs from the Denver Symphony Orchestra; four programs from the Oberfelder-Slack Concert Series; and the signatures of fourteen musicians.

Collection Historical Note

Margaret Marian Grubb was born in Lima, Ohio in 1922. At an early age, her family moved to Denver, Colorado. Throughout her childhood and formative years, she studied the organ, violin, and piano. Dorothy Milne and Howard Reynolds taught her violin and Dalies Franz and her mother and musician, Margaret Day Grubb, taught her piano. In 1940, she became principal violinist of the Denver Junior Symphony and a member of the Denver Civic Symphony. From 1939 to 1943, she attended the University of Denver on a scholasic scholarship. During her college career, she was an active member of the University Orchestra and played piano for the University Trio and University Radio Program. In 1943, she attended the Music School at Yale University and studied piano under Bruce Simonds, Blanche Dingley-Mathews  and Matthew Bartholomew. At Yale, she performed professionally at venies in Connecticut and New York. She had two solo shows at the New Haven Symphony. Additionally, she garned numerous awards at the university such as the Ditson Senior Class Fellowship, the Ditson Graduate Fellowship, and the Julia S. Lockwood Scholarship for Excellence in Piano Playing. In 1947, she received her Master in Music from Yale University and joined the music faculty at the North Texas State (now the University of North Texas) College of Music. She taught at UNT for thirty-three years. During her teaching career, she continued performing at venues around the southwest region. She also taught the Opera Theater Workshop in Houston, Texas and the Opera Department of the Berkshire Music Center at Tanglewood, Massachusetts in 1958, both with musician Boris Goldovsky.

Subject/Index Terms

Access Information

Access Restrictions:

This collection is not restricted.

Use Restrictions:

Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Special Collections department. Copyright restrictions may apply.

Physical Access Note:

This collection is stored off-site and requires a minimum of 24 hours notice prior to use.

Reading Room or Duplication Requests

Depending on any access restrictions noted above, you may be able to request items be delivered to our reading room, or that we make reproductions for you. Just click on either the or icons in the listings below to be routed to our request form.

Administrative Information

Repository: University of North Texas Special Collections
Accruals: 81-017
Acquisition Source: Margaret Grubb
Acquisition Method: Gift
Preferred Citation: Margaret Grubb Music Programs Collection, University of North Texas Special Collections


Some finding aids are quite large and may take a minute or more to load. This message will dissapear when the page has fully loaded.

Search this Finding Aid

Box and Folder Listing

Additional Links

Page Generated in: 0.105 seconds (using 199 queries).
Using 6.84MB of memory. (Peak of 7.02MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign