Deborah Crombie Papers, 1990-2013Add to your cart.

Collection Overview

Title: Deborah Crombie Papers, 1990-2013Add to your cart.
Predominant Dates: 1993-2007
ID: 01/ AR0761
Primary Creator: Crombie, Deborah.
Extent: 7.0 Boxes
Arrangement: The personal papers are arranged by material type, while the manuscripts are arranged alphabetically.
Date Acquired: 09/13/2013
Languages: English


The personal papers and manuscripts of author Deborah Crombie.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

The Deborah Crombie Papers is composed of manuscripts of the author’s novels, which include handwritten notes and corrections, and personal papers. The personal papers series includes reviews, research for novels in progress, and correspondence.

Collection Historical Note

Deborah Crombie, born in Dallas, is the award winning author of the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James British crime series. She was raised in the North Texas suburb of Richardson. After attending college at the Austin College in Sherman, Texas, where she received her bachelor’s in biology, Crombie began working in the newspaper advertising field. It was also during this time, as a post-graduate, that she took her first trip to the United Kingdom which solidified her love for the country.

Upon returning to North Texas, after living in the UK and Scotland for some time, Crombie began to settle down working in her family’s business while focusing on her family, as well as beginning to write her first mystery novel. In 1993, the novel– A Share in Death – was published. Since1993 Crombie has written 15 British crime novels. These stories share Crombie’s love for the UK, a passion which fuses with the author’s keen writing style, taking the audience into the world of Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James.

Crombie’s novels, all of which are printed in several languages, include the aforementioned A Share in Death as well as the following titles listed by publication date:

A Share in Death, 1993

All Shall be Well, 1994

Leave the Grave Green, 1995

Mourn Not Your Dead, 1996

Dreaming of the Bones, 1997

Kissed a Sad Goodbye, 1999

A Finer End, 2001

And Justice There is None, 2002

Now May You Weep, 2003

In a Dark House, 2005

Water Like a Stone, 2007

Where Memories Lie, 2008

Necessary as Blood, 2009

No Mark upon Her, 2012

The Sound of Broken Glass, 2013

The UNT Libraries Special Collections is honored to house the manuscripts and papers of Deborah Crombie.

Subject/Index Terms

Access Information

Access Restrictions:

This collection is not restricted.

Use Restrictions:

Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Special Collections department. Copyright restrictions apply.

Physical Access Note:

This collection is stored off-site and requires a minimum of 24 hour notice prior to use.

Reading Room or Duplication Requests

Depending on any access restrictions noted above, you may be able to request items be delivered to our reading room, or that we make reproductions for you. Just click on either the or icons in the listings below to be routed to our request form.

Administrative Information

Repository: University of North Texas Special Collections
Acquisition Source: Deborah Crombie
Acquisition Method: Gift
Preferred Citation: Deborah Crombie Papers, University of North Texas Special Collections


Some finding aids are quite large and may take a minute or more to load. This message will dissapear when the page has fully loaded.

Search this Finding Aid

Box and Folder Listing

Additional Links

Page Generated in: 0.251 seconds (using 229 queries).
Using 7.07MB of memory. (Peak of 7.48MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign