Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Collection, 1976-2008Add to your cart.

By Daniel Lucio

Collection Overview

Title: Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Collection, 1976-2008Add to your cart.
ID: 02/ U0496
Primary Creator: University of North Texas. Health Science Center at Fort Worth.
Extent: 2.0 Boxes
Arrangement: This collection is arranged into boxes by date.
Languages: English


This collection contains a variety of publications from Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. These publications include catalogs, newsletters, and other administrative publications.These boxes are part of the Ready Reference collection.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

The publications in this collection include primarily newsletters, such as Dateline, and general information brochures directed towards perspective students. The other publications include conference and event programs as well as general health brochures directed towards the general public.

Biographical Note

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine was founded as a private, non-profit school in 1970. The three physicians with the vision to found this institution were D. D. Beyer, George Luibel, and Carl Everett.  In its second year, a need to expand its space led to the purchase of the Tavener Bowling Alley, which would be used as classrooms and laboratories.  The first class of 18 students graduated in 1974. The school joined North Texas State University (now the University of North Texas) in 1975, when legislation was passed by the Texas Legislature to make TCOM a state medical school. The school was located in Fort Worth’s cultural district. The first permanent building on campus was the Carl E. Everett Education and Administration Building. In 1982, the Medical Education Building 2 opened. The Medical Education Building 3, now the Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library, was opened in 1986. The DNA Identity Laboratory was created in 1990.

In 1992, Texas House Speaker Gib Lewis made the proposal to rename TCOM the North Texas Health Science Center.  It was hoped that the name change would help the institution to gain recognition and federal funding.  The bill that passed was written by state Senator Mike Moncrief. On August 30, 1993, the institution was officially renamed the University of North Texas Health Science Center. The need for more space continued to be a theme in the development of the UNT Health Science Center. In 1997, the Patient Care Center, now known as the Health Pavilion, opened. Another building would follow in 2004. The Center for BioHealth was dedicated to biotechnology and public health. In 2010 the Medical Education and Training Building was opened.  The Interdisciplinary Research and Education Building was opened in 2018.

In 2011, the Texas Legislature authorized the establishment of the first pharmacy school in North Texas at the North Texas Health Science Center. It welcomed its first class in 2013. The school now has cooperative programs with Texas Christian University and Texas Woman’s University. Texas Christian University and the Health Science Center have a joint MD school, created in 2015.  The first class for the new school started in 2019. TCU’s Neeley School of Business and UNTHSC’s School of Public Health collaborate to allow students to earn a master’s in health administration. The Health Science Center has the following schools and colleges: Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, School of Public Health, School of Health Professions, College Pharmacy, TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine, and the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.  It is the only health science center in Texas to offer this wide a choice of medical education, research, and healthcare on a centralized campus.

[Fort Worth Star-Telegram, 1992-11-26]

[Fort Worth Star-Telegram, 1993-06-15]

[UNT Health Science Center Web site]

Subject/Index Terms

Access Information

Access Restrictions:

This collection is not restricted.

Use Restrictions:

Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Archives and Rare Books department. Copyright restrictions may apply.

Physical Access Note:

Collection is housed in the UNT Archives and Rare Book department vault. Advance notice for use is preferred. Please contact the UNT Archives and Rare Book department for further information.

Reading Room or Duplication Requests

Depending on any access restrictions noted above, you may be able to request items be delivered to our reading room, or that we make reproductions for you. Just click on either the or icons in the listings below to be routed to our request form.

Administrative Information

Repository: University of North Texas Special Collections
Acquisition Source: UNT Printing Services; Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Acquisition Method: Gift
Preferred Citation: Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Collection, University of North Texas Special Collections


Some finding aids are quite large and may take a minute or more to load. This message will dissapear when the page has fully loaded.

Search this Finding Aid

Box and Folder Listing

Additional Links

Page Generated in: 0.256 seconds (using 240 queries).
Using 7.57MB of memory. (Peak of 8.34MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign