Department of Physics (1901 to present) | University of North Texas Special Collections

Name: Department of Physics (1901 to present)

Historical Note:

Physics was taught as a science class in 1901. In 1913 all the sciences were gathered in one Department of Science.  The school tried several different styles of organization with the sciences for several years. In 1917, a Department of Physics was organized.  In 1919, Physics was once again listed as a part of the Department of Science. By 1920, the department name had become the Department of Physical Sciences, which included chemistry and physics.  This lasted until 1923, when Physics and Chemistry were listed separately in the catalog.  Physics was listed as its own department in 1927.

By 1947, UNT had divided the areas of study into schools and colleges.  Physics became part of the College of Arts and Sciences.  The Department of Physics began listing graduate level course work in the 1946/47 catalog for students wishing to earn a master’s degree.  A program leading to a Doctor of Philosophy in Physics was first offered in the 1965 – 1966 catalog.

Instructor/Department Head or Chair

Louis Lionel Miller, instructor, department head

Wallace Newton Masters

Louis Fred Connell, Jr., instructor

Jimmy Ray Sybert

Rogers Walker Redding

W. D. Deering, Acting Chair

Bruce West

Samuel E. Matteson

Floyd D. McDaniel, Interim Chair

Christopher Littler

Michelle Rumer

David Shultz

Page Generated in: 0.07 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 11.81MB of memory. (Peak of 11.99MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign