Name: School of Library and Information Science

Historical Note:

Library science was first taught on the University of North Texas campus in the 1935/1936 school year.  Four courses were offered. In 1939/1940 name changed from the Library Department to the Department of Library Service.  Two levels of instruction were offered: 1) gave instruction to students on how to use library tools; and 2) the other prepared students for careers in library service.  Students could only earn a bachelor's degree.  By 1964, the department was offering a master's degree.  In 1970 a Doctor of Philosophy degree was added in Library Service.  The department became the School of Library and Information Sciences in 1971.  A post-master's Certificate of Advanced Study was added in 1976.  The School ceased to offer the Doctor of Philosophy degree in 1990.  In 2011 the School of Library Science was made a part of the College of Information and is now known as the Department of Library and Information Science.

Directors/Deans/Chairs (dates based on UNT Catalogs):

Arthur McCullogh Sampley 1940-1954

David Aiken Webb 1954-1968

Claud Glenn Sparks 1968-1972

David Webb, acting dean 1972-1973

Dewey E. Carroll, 1973-1988

Raymond F. Vondran 1988-1997

Philip M. Turner 1997-2005

Samantha Hastings, interim dean 2005-2006

Herman L. Totten 2006-2009

Maurice Wheeler, interim chair, 2009-2010

Linda Schamber, interim chair 2010 -2012

Suliman Hawamdeh, chair 2012 -

Records or Manuscript Collections Created by School of Library and Information Science

Additional Links

Page Generated in: 0.087 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 5.9MB of memory. (Peak of 6.03MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign