Fred Hawthorne Minor (1888 - 1976) | University of North Texas Special Collections

Name: Fred Hawthorne Minor (1888 - 1976)

Historical Note:

Fred Minor was born on December 11, 1888 to John Rufus and Elizabeth Matilda (Boyd) Minor.  He attended Denton County schools, Lewisville grade and high schools, and North Texas State Normal College (now known as the University of North Texas).  He earned a teacher's certificate.  He taught elementary school for four years before entering the University of Texas law school.  He received his LL.B in 1916, graduating first in his class. Minor would practice law in Denton, Texas from 1917 until his death. He married Katharine Johnson in 1920 and they had one child.  He served as Denton County Democratic chairman from 1918 to 1924.  He was elected to the Texas legislature in 1926 and would serve until 1933. He served out W. S. Barron's term as speaker of the House and was elected to that position in 1931. He also served on the Liquor Control Board from 1943 - 1948. He was the chair of that board during his last year of service.  He also a member of the Texas Civil Judicial Council, the Denton City Council (for eight years), and  the Denton Board of Education (for sixteen years). He was named a distinguished alumnus by UNT and was awarded the Otis Fowler Award, the highest honor given by the Denton Chamber of Commerce. Fred Minor died on April 24, 1976.

[Information for this entry comes from the Handbook of Texas Online, "Fred Hawthorne Minor" by Dr. Robert La Forte]

Page Generated in: 0.072 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 11.81MB of memory. (Peak of 11.99MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign